//
you're reading...
EVE Online

Just what I’ve always wanted

It’s a fact of life for most people when they reach a certain age, regardless of the occasion, that all the presents they get for tenaciously and selfishly clinging on to life become more mundane. Ladies get perfume or jewelry, the chaps get sensible ties or wacky socks and, once a precedent is set, the same gifts keep coming year after year until death us depart. If that sounds depressing, you can take some small comfort from the fact that you won’t notice it happening and after a few years you’ll even find yourself getting quite irate if a relative gets ideas above their station and buys you something you weren’t expecting.

As CCP have been keen to stress over recent months (that EVE is real), it’s something of a surprise that for surviving the rigours of New Eden we shall all receive a mystery gift tomorrow in celebration of EVE’s 8th birthday. The frustrating thing is that we don’t know what this gift will be and as a veteran who expects all CCP gifts to be in the form of a spaceship (I’ve long since given up hope of seeing snowballs again), I can see myself getting rather crotchety if it turns out to be anything else. I don’t mind if it’s wacky or sensible, but I want to be able to unpack it, try it on for size, admire it for a few minutes and then hang it up at the back of the wardrobe, never to be thought of again. Because that’s how things must be.

As an 11th hour attempt to ensure we get spaceships rather than something we don’t actually need, like a patch or something, I’ve hurriedly put together this little chart that shows comparatively how many pilot-able ships CCP have released every year since EVE went live in 2003. It clearly shows that we need ships more than ever, even useless ones that are only ever good for collecting dust. Spaceships are like socks – you can never have enough of them.

EDIT: I’ll add the figures here; 2010 – 2 ships, 2009 – 5 ships, 2008 – 2 ships, 2007 – 20 ships, 2006 – 8 really big ships, 2005 – 47 ships, 2004 – 55 ships. Data from memory, various patchnotes, EVElopedia and dev blogs. 

Discussion

12 thoughts on “Just what I’ve always wanted

  1. So what are the actual numbers? This early in the morning I can think of 2 in 2010. Looking at the chart that would mean there were 30 or 40. I didn’t know there were so many. Or are you including the prizes for tournaments?

    Is there a place I can find all the names of the free ships that have been given out over the years?

    Posted by zcar300 | May 5, 2011, 1:45 pm
  2. Tournament prizes, limited edition shuttles, gifts and all the faction and Tech II reskins from way back when – anything that was technically flyable when added to the game. I went through as many dev blogs and patchnotes as I could find, but might have missed one or two ships. The main skew to the figures would be the Tech III cruisers, as they could be counted as more than just four ships.

    Anyway, I’ll add the numbers to the post…

    Posted by Zapatero | May 5, 2011, 2:12 pm
  3. Cool. I’m with you, I like getting ships. I have a small collection of giveaway and rare ships.

    Posted by zcar300 | May 5, 2011, 2:18 pm
  4. here on the dawn of my hiatus does someone with clout mention the idea I ahve been blogging about for months! GL

    BTW if you look at COMBAT capabloe ships it is even LESS

    Posted by manasi | May 5, 2011, 7:02 pm
  5. “It’s not a ship.” http://twitter.com/#!/CCP_Fallout/status/66139247895257089

    I think it’s some sort of drink, or maybe avatar clothing. (And even though I’m a roleplayer, I’d have liked a new ship too!)

    Posted by Ecliptic Rift | May 5, 2011, 9:21 pm
  6. Quafe Zero x 6

    A booster that gives +5% to speed and scan resolution. No side effects.

    P.S. When are we getting the EON Frigate Tournament page back and are we still to send match results to the same email address?

    Posted by noise | May 6, 2011, 5:51 am
  7. It is back (under EON PRESENTS… (er, I mean CONTRIBUTE) and I blogged about it the other day. The old email is no longer active, so the results have to come to me (richie@mmm). It’s been a long stime since there have been any.

    Posted by Zapatero | May 6, 2011, 10:18 am
  8. Thanks! How did I miss that post?

    I’ve not been doing any as I was uncertain as to it’s outcome. I love the tourney but I see other feel it went on too long.

    I’ll be attempting to get in a few more matches before you end it though!!

    Posted by noise | May 6, 2011, 2:20 pm
  9. Also, there is no link in EON Presents :p lol

    Posted by noise | May 6, 2011, 2:23 pm
  10. The EON Frigate Tournament link is in the Contribute tab for some reason?

    Posted by noise | May 10, 2011, 3:26 pm
  11. Yes. It requires contribution, so it seemed as good a place as any. I shall update the table this week (just as soon as i can find the file dogma used).

    Posted by Zapatero | May 10, 2011, 4:52 pm
  12. Any news?

    Posted by noise | May 17, 2011, 9:38 am

Leave a Reply

Previously

ISK Volume 1 – The Hard-Copy Guide for all EVE Pilots

@EONmagazine

EVE Strategic Maps

EON Bundle – Save $$$

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 76 other followers

