//
you're reading...
EVE Online

In space, no one can hear you sing

How was your Christmas? In the sense that it was punctuated by mindless gluttony and crap TV, I imagine yours was similar to mine. (What wasn’t, I suspect, was the food. The menu at Chez Zapatero was wholly vegetarian and thoroughly delicious for it. The only creatures harmed in the making of my festive feast were the millions of bacteria that have expired in my stomach due to exhaustion. Poor things.)

Aside from being a little curious as to what you lot got for Christmas (do tell, do tell), I wonder if any of you made an effort to play EVE today. I don’t know about anyone else, but I find New Eden to have a completely different vibe during Christmas and New Year. The people who are about, usually hauling trinkets and tidying up their hangars, seem to keep to themselves more than usual, almost embarrassed to be logged in. I imagine them to be sick to death of their in-laws and just eager for some time to themselves.

Then you have the people who either don’t know or don’t care that it’s Christmas: angry young things who would rather drench you in Christmas spirit and set alight to it than share a festive “fare thee well”. A couple of years ago I remember waddling into the room, having picked apart a roasted fowl (back in my carnivore days), only to find my ship replaced by a frozen corpse, with a message flashing in the Neocom saying something along the lines of “Ho ho ho, thanks for the wonderful gift.”

One of the best times to play EVE, I find, is on New Year’s Eve – when most of the players are half cut. A fair number of players are well buttered at most times of year, of course, but there doesn’t seem to be as much animosity about during Hogmanay. More often than not you can slip through a gate camp with a few friendly words and hub systems like Jita will resemble a 24-hour party town as midnight kicks in at different times for people who may be thousands of miles apart in real-life, while being mere kilometres apart in-game.

After all, when it comes to singing Auld Lang Syne, outer space is the best place. No one else can hear you.

Discussion

One thought on “In space, no one can hear you sing

  1. I found the I had to log into New Eden for at least a short time because I mistimed my skill training. I did find it oddly peaceful but I did attempt to blow up some ships while logged in, though unsuccessfully :(

    Posted by meatay | December 27, 2010, 3:43 am

Leave a Reply

Previously

ISK Volume 1 – The Hard-Copy Guide for all EVE Pilots

@EONmagazine

EVE Strategic Maps

EON Bundle – Save $$$

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 78 other followers

