//
you're reading...
EVE Online

Paperback wins, for now

With the winter months closing in, a time when it’s traditional for people to curl up with a good book, I notice via a couple of recent blogs that more and more players are catching up with the two EVE novels, having – I assume – missed them when they first came out.

I myself tried to make headway into The Empyrean Age a few weeks ago, but carrying the hardback edition onto a packed train every morning became problematic – as much for me as for my fellow commuters – so I had to leave it at home and try something more portable . Going to the other extreme I decided to buy the other EVE novel, The Burning Life, for the Amazon Kindle. I figured it would be far more convenient to read the book on a wafer-thin electronic device rather than lug a set of granite tablets around.

Except that I don’t have a Kindle.

Pretty dumb, you might think, but hang on. Seeing as there are Kindle apps for PC and iPhone, I reasoned I would at least have the option of reading the book pretty much anywhere, and in doing so less likely to have to secure a decent amount of personal space on my preferred mode of public transport in order to swipe through pages.

Unfortunately, as the above image might allude to, it’s been tough going. I’ve come to realise that reading a book on an iPhone is a pretty ludicrous thing to do, only marginality less ridiculous than trying to play a FPS on the damn thing. Reading a book on a desktop screen isn’t much easier (and is of course as non-portable as a reading option can be), but I’m muddling through and am rapidly approaching the half-way mark of the story with no intention of putting it aside. It’s taken a month so far. I would have gotten through it far quicker had I invested in the standard paperback, but I’m loathed to shell out twice.

Still, you live and learn.

(As for what I think of the “book”, the lady agents are wonderful characters. Every chapter they are in so far is a delight to read. Drem and his Lost Boy mates, frankly, I’m less interested in. I suspect Hjalti has functioned in some narrative trickery that will make me change my mind on all of them before Location 6627 comes around.)

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Paperback wins, for now

  1. I assume you’re using a 3G(s)? I preferred using vertical orientation with mine. 4 has a high enough resolution to even read comics.

    Posted by Shirrath | December 7, 2010, 5:15 pm
  2. Mrs. Zapatero is in line to get an iPhone 4 through her work. Sadly I have to wait for another year.

    Posted by Zapatero | December 7, 2010, 5:56 pm
  3. You’re better off with the wait. In a year there’ll be version 5, and hopefully it’ll be without all the glaring problems of the fourth.

    Posted by Kala | December 7, 2010, 6:39 pm
  4. I have a iPhone 3g. I use Stanza all the time. I carry it around just to read books on. I wish it had a bigger screen (can we say Evo?), but it works pretty good. The only bad thing I can say about Kindle is I haven’t figured out a way to put the ebooks I have onto it, without rebuying it from Amazon.

    Posted by Robert | December 7, 2010, 8:30 pm

Leave a Reply

Previously

ISK Volume 1 – The Hard-Copy Guide for all EVE Pilots

@EONmagazine

EVE Strategic Maps

EON Bundle – Save $$$

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 76 other followers

