//
you're reading...
EVE Online

Appearing on a killmail near you, soon

After almost a year I am active in a corp once more. I’m rather excited about my prospects for staying active this time because I’d decided to retire my day 1 character and strike out afresh, with one that was for a short time his packhorse in Providence, but has no history to speak of, a decent few skillpoints (but not so many as to be a burden) and a carefree attitude to being blown up on a regular basis.

As soon as I write this I will be reacquainting myself with the intricacies of the overview, packing the Bessie with what few possessions I have and heading out for the borders of Curse. Once there I will set up all the necessary bookmarks before jumping in a secession of poorly-fitted frigates and appearing on killmails of the entrenched local inhabitants. I have to say it’s all very exciting. I am born again, almost.

I have of course been watching events in New Eden like a bespectacled one-eyed hawk, but usually from afar, from the comfort of a Hulk (my day 1 character), or Helios (Zapatero), or a creaky Constellation-class USS Shatner (Maurice Shoe, Star Trek Online). Often my view is coloured via the lenses of a small cadre of highly knowledgable acquaintances, and while they’ve let me enjoy a uniquely focused overview of EVE’s political landscape, my outlook of the various battlefields has been obscured. I’ve probably not picked up on the finer detail of things, or appreciated the scale and speed of war from inside the maelstrom. Certainly the subtle evolutions and seismic patch-induced changes in combat have passed me by.

But I’m not heading out from a self-induced comfort zone in order to benefit my knowledge, I’m doing it to clear out cobwebs that have been allowed to build up for far too long, because although 110+ million skillpoints sounds like the gateway to unending fun and frolics, when you’ve been sitting on your arse away from things, those skillpoints become something of a bind. Mostly though I’m heading out to new frontiers to have fun, meet new people and make proper use of free time that had eluded me this past year.

Wish me luck!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Appearing on a killmail near you, soon

  1. I know the feeling, and admire your bold move. Good luck in your new endeavours!

    Posted by David "CrazyKinux" Perry | February 20, 2010, 4:39 pm
  2. Get yourself over to Evati (Metropolis lo-sec) and The Bastards will be happy to show you a good time :)

    Posted by mandrill | February 23, 2010, 2:15 pm

Leave a Reply

Previously

ISK Volume 1 – The Hard-Copy Guide for all EVE Pilots

@EONmagazine

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

EVE Strategic Maps

EON Bundle – Save $$$

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 78 other followers

