//
you're reading...
EVE Online

screenshot winners

I would like to thank everyone who entered our screenshot competition from last weekend. We had hundreds of entries which took us more than a day to get through – but let’s not make it sound like it wasn’t a pleasurable day of work: Seeing and reading about the wealth of activities players were getting up to during Apocrypha’s first live weekend offered welcome respite from panic-writing the last few pages of EON.

The winning screenshots were judged not just on the quality and composition of the image, but whether it found the basis of a commentary that told a brief story. Some people included a very interesting piece of text and an image that would have been lessened without it. The winners were also judged by how each image sat on the page next to the others. You see, the idea of “Postcards” is always to offer a wealth of different views, with different stories behind them, so while some images may have looked better through another pair of eyes, I think we chose a very healthy and inspiring mix.

Without further ado, here are the winning names, who will shortly each be receiving 100m ISK and a copy of the magazine just as soon as it is ready: Aeon Spark, Alin Gane, Che Biko, Grey Nord, Irumani, Leeloo Malaquin, Mkah Mvet, Mynxee, Natas Ignis & Pottsey.

I Should add that we will be accepting new screenhots for another competition soon, and that I will this time hope to secure better prizes thanks to Nvidia.

Finally, this image was sent in by Lord Saitan. His graphics card evidently wasn’t up to EVE’s new basic standard. I was torn to include it among the winners, and would have cited failing camera drones as the culprit behind it, but in the end decided against including it. Poor Lord Saitan. Thanks to Apocrypha he lost twice. I hope he doesn’t wardec us.

lord-saitan-4gq-xq

If the 400+ screenshots we received were any indication of what the general population of EVE was busying itself with, it would seem that about 20% were cooing like babies at the new asteroids, 20% had no idea Apocrypha had been released and were getting on with their usual wars, 10% tackling missions and 50% opening up wormholes (many of which were too intimidating to enter – judging by the comments from the people who peered into them).

Discussion

11 thoughts on “screenshot winners

  1. I should probably admit that we did use a few of the other images that were submitted to us elsewhere in the magazine. It made we wonder whether in the future it might be an idea to set up some kind of EON image library, where people could submit images to, tag them, then if we use them we pay a few million ISK to the person who took it. Does anyone have any thoughts on that?

    Posted by Zapatero | March 24, 2009, 8:35 pm
  2. @ Zapatero: Sounds great, I’d be in for that.

    Posted by Nimar Seii | March 24, 2009, 9:33 pm
  3. That archive is a great idea. I would love to submit images like that. Might even have to develop a special little “photographer’s signature” to sign my images with :) Very excited to see which of my images won, by the way. I had my favorite in that group–be fun to see if your choice and mine concur.

    Posted by Mynxee | March 25, 2009, 12:30 am
  4. Maybe upload to flickr or some similar service and tag it EON_SCREENSHOT ?

    If there is any opensource php thing that can do this I wouldn’t mind hosting it, but most of those are more intended for private galleries ie. with one person uploading pics..

    Posted by Eric | March 25, 2009, 8:05 am
  5. Maybe something like this would work ?

    Panda web gallery

    Posted by Eric | March 25, 2009, 8:09 am
  6. Wow, I can’t believe I was one of the winners! I’ll be sure to apply for all future competitions, thank you so much!

    Btw. here is a kill mail report of the event that happened after my screenshot was taken: http://www.battleclinic.com/eve_online/pk/view.php?type=player&name=Leeloo+Malaquin&id=6172542&page=1&filter=losses#mail

    Posted by Leeloo Malaquin | March 26, 2009, 7:57 am
  7. Well, considering I have a whole lot of pictures that look good, (I was kind of dissapointed I couldn’t use those for the competition because they were pre-apocrypha xD) will continue to make those, could always use some ISK, and the only picture I entered into the contest was one of the winners…I can would like to see that kind of library, although I might prefer getting another copy of EON with my pic in it instead of ISK, if I had to choose.

    P.S. Never had 100 mil ISK, so please don’t take the above as an excuse for not giving it to me, but I mostly look forward to seeing my pic in EON. :D :D :D

    Posted by Che Biko | March 30, 2009, 3:56 pm
  8. I agree, I couldn’t believe it when i saw my image , then I realised I hadn’t won :(

    i like what you did with it though

    Posted by Cmdr Greg | April 27, 2009, 7:29 pm
  9. Did anyone else get his issue of EON? I didn’t. I’m not even getting an answer to my mails asking about it. :(

    Posted by Che Biko | August 8, 2009, 3:41 pm
  10. I don’t remember getting an email. Try me at richie@mmmpublishing.com and we’ll sort this out.

    Z

    Posted by Zapatero | August 8, 2009, 3:51 pm
  11. im emailing them mine now!

    Posted by haseo yashimora | August 13, 2010, 9:03 pm

Leave a Reply

Previously

ISK Volume 1 – The Hard-Copy Guide for all EVE Pilots

@EONmagazine

EVE Strategic Maps

EON Bundle – Save $$$

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 76 other followers

