//
you're reading...
EVE Online

the tag stops here

Ok, this tagging thing has gone far enough… actually it seems to have gone as far as is possible, and I appear to be among the the last victims to take part in this merciless prank, which lets me off the hook for volunteering further unpleasantness upon my fellow bloggers.  Hoorah!

So, it appears I’m required to write a few facts about myself:

  • I came up with the name for the Exodus expansion, hoping it would be enough to earn me an honorary dev shirt. It wasn’t.
  • I once had my eyes removed from their sockets for an operation to fix my wonky vision, after which the surgeon told me they were lolling about my cheeks in a most amusing way. I was sedated at the time, obviously, but looking in the mirror the next day convinced me he was probably telling the truth.
  • I’ve spent a small fortune on driving lessons and it took me nine attempts to pass my test (11 if you include theory exams). My instructor – having put his four kids through university at my expense – finally suggested I get stoned, or take prescription pills that would have a similar effect, in order to be able to fool the examiner that I be allowed to drive a car unaided. I did, and passed.
  • I love hardcore strategy games of  the grand/4X variety, and I completely suck at playing them.
  • As a kid I ran across a live firing range on a British millitary base for a prank. Many years later I found myself in a gun club in Vegas, shaking with fear, holding a handgun at some paper target. I dropped the pistol, it went off, I survived. I don’t think I should be allowed near firearms again, just in case I’ve already ridden my luck. (Suits me just fine.)
  • At the front of a packed Front Line Assembly gig a friend* decided it was probably futile to try to get to the bathroom before the band came on, so he emptied himself in a pint glass and tucked it behind a monitor on the stage. Minutes later, the lead singer ran on, kicking the stage monitor. The glass tipped over and the leather-clad vocalist slipped on his arse in what he probably thought was beer. My chum  and I decided to then watch the rest of the show from a few rows back. (Yes, a real friend. It wasn’t me!)
  • I’ve been a passenger in Sid Meier‘s car and it was like the inside of a stationery cupboard that had been ransacked by rabid wolverines. Over lunch, at our destination, he confided that he watches real football and supports Arsenal. (I think so… it was a few years ago now.)
Discussion

8 thoughts on “the tag stops here

  1. Wow, you definitely have the most interesting facts I’ve read so far.

    Posted by Godlesswanderer | December 18, 2008, 1:22 am
  2. Mmm let’s see, me thinks that Zapatero has a few issues with the concept of perception. All of which are explained by a few of the above revelation.

    Great read mate, and I agree with you, CCP needs to provide you with a unique one-of-a-kind indestructuble ship to roam New Eden.

    Either that or beer for life!

    Posted by Crazykinux | December 18, 2008, 3:30 am
  3. LOL LOL LOL.

    One of the been I’ve read. Too bad your not spreading the wildfire also :(

    Posted by Tony | December 18, 2008, 6:06 am
  4. Definitely some of the best facts yet, mate. Well done. Sid Meier has gone up even further in my estimations now :)

    Posted by wensley | December 18, 2008, 1:00 pm
  5. @CK: hehe, aye, when I read this back it became immediately clear why I suck at anything that requires an appreciation of the environment around me. I think I’ll become a politician :)

    Posted by Zapatero | December 18, 2008, 1:22 pm
  6. HAHAHA I laughed very hard at your revelations. Especially the last one about sid Miers car! Great read Zapatero!…yes BTW if I ever see you again I promise to buy you a beer and not mine while your there..I promise!

    Posted by Manasi | December 18, 2008, 6:41 pm
  7. I agree about the Tagged thing. I typically delete email forwards, and as some have noticed, I haven’t posted on my blog regarding being tagged.

    The eye socket thing? That’s simply disgusting, but I hope it fixed your vision. As someone who once removed someone’s eyeball, I can appreciate how delicate that can be.

    Sorry you didn’t get your dev shirt. I’ll have to send you a “Property of Roc Wieler” TShirt to make up for it, ok?

    Posted by rocwieler | December 19, 2008, 4:03 pm
  8. woot, i avoided the tag tree \o/
    and LMAO at the FLA story

    Posted by omberzombie | December 21, 2008, 7:59 pm

Leave a Reply

Previously

ISK Volume 1 – The Hard-Copy Guide for all EVE Pilots

@EONmagazine

EVE Strategic Maps

EON Bundle – Save $$$

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 78 other followers

