//
you're reading...
EVE Online

out of eon experience

EON#013 is done. It was actually done a couple of days ago, but other MMM duties required me get stuck into them immediately. For the wicked, it appears, there is no rest.

Of course it hasn’t all been ceasless toil and back-breaking work over the entirety of the last few days. A couple of weeks ago during a short period of downtime I rolled up a new LOTRO character. I played the game very briefly at launch and enjoyed it, but never really had the time to fully immerse myself in Turbine’s version of Tolkien’s fantasy blueprint. Truth be told I’m not much of a fantasy fan at all, but if I was to start lording about in a game with orcs, I may as well play the real thing rather than some cover version like World of Warcraft.

What I like about Lord of the Rings Online is how relaxed it is. Levelling up is just something you do as you go from place to place reading boxes of text. I wouldn’t go so far as to call it the ultimate Tolkien experience, since having tried and failed to get enjoyment from the books, if LOTRO was true to the source as I recognise it, I would have thrown it on the fire long ago. Fellowship of the Ring really is the most tedious bit of fiction I’ve ever encountered. (No, I’ve not read the Bible.)

Rather more recently I bought and installed Warhammer Online, and though I used to like Warhammer back in my school days, the 40K universe was more my thing. In the realm of GW fantasy, I far preferred the battle system to the role-playing one.

Now WAR is quite a different beast to LOTRO and one I’m not fully sure if I like. Having picked a Dwarven Engineer and toyed with a Goblin Healer, the classes feel quite unique, but I can’t help but feel like I’m playing a bad version of Team Fortress whenever I get into any RvR. As for the public quests, most are frequented by morons, but then most new MMOs are full of such beasts. The server I’m on lags most nights and the graphics are not too great, so I’m hardly having the time of my life. However it’s too early for me to call a halt to my proceeding with the game, but I seem to have returned to the Shire to learn the ways of the carrot farmer, at least for the time being. I seem to find planting vegetables near Michel Delving more interesting than planting my spanner in orc faces.

Of course I will be back in EVE over the course of the weekend, but I always take a week of extended downtime after finishing an EON, just for the sake of my sanity. In any case, I’ve missed two successive mining ops and I fear I shall be kicked out of my corp unless I make amends quickly. But these carrots are sooo crunchy…

Discussion

2 thoughts on “out of eon experience

  1. Congrats on finishing up the dreaded 13th issue! You deserve a break and if WAR can give you that, then that’ll be that!!

    Cheers!

    Posted by Crazykinux | September 26, 2008, 8:17 pm
  2. LOTRO is amazingly atmospheric! I agree that the Shire is one of the best areas in the game. If you have never explored Angmar, it is also very well done though less bucolic than the Shire.

    Posted by Jaggins | October 14, 2008, 7:40 pm

Leave a Reply

Previously

ISK Volume 1 – The Hard-Copy Guide for all EVE Pilots

@EONmagazine

EVE Strategic Maps

EON Bundle – Save $$$

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 78 other followers

