//
you're reading...
EVE Online

after the meet

After a suitably greasy lunch and a strong cup of tea I can now claim to feeling at least part human after the EVE player meet in Philadelphia yesterday.

I would hazard a guess that there were 50 people who came along, some sticking around only until I bumbled my way through reading aloud the EON Award winners, others only appearing afterwards. Not as impressive a turnout as the London meet perhaps, which had well over 100 attendees, but a great crowd nonetheless.

I have to give out massive thanks to Nicoli Voldkif who dutifully drove me all the way to and from Harrisburg (I have no memory of the return journey, though I gather I was fully asleep for most of it), also to Xeserox from Eden Underground Radio who traipsed from New Jersey and left only with a drunken interview of me swearing loudly and talking only small ammounts of sense. I’d also like to mention Manasi, who squeezed every bit of life out of his notebook to get EVE running at 7fps and thus managed to have a mining op going during the meet, making him the only player to leave the pub with more money than he went in with.

Congratulations, of course, to the winners, whom I will be contacting in-game soon so we can get the awards mailed out – a process that may take a month or two, since we’re still waiting for the trophies to be made up. I shall of course be thinking ahead to the nominations for the 2009 awards, which may be decided by a secret council (of trusted EON contributors) which will hopefully convene around Fanfest time… giving me plenty of time to defeat this hangover.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “after the meet

  1. So you’re still state side, eh!

    I’m in awe that tea does the job for ya, I wish I could drink more of the stuff, since they say coffee isn’t as good for ya. Especially in the quantities I consume!

    As for the number of people who showed up, 50 is a number to be proud of – considering that if we get 10 to show up at ours in Montreal, we claim victory. Never mind the numbers in London, thank you very much!

    Finally, I assume that we’ll see the results of the Awards in the April issue?

    Cheers mate!

    Posted by Crazykinux | April 6, 2008, 11:13 pm
  2. I do love a good coffee, but without a good strong mug of “builders” tea I cannot start the day.

    50 was a great turn out – more than I expected and as much as I am comfortable with. The London meets are too big for me, and far too raucus for me to comfortably present too (thanks to spiral for mediating things there).

    Yes, winners are in the mag – although I’ll put them up here too, sometime next week. It was a strong showing from the Goons, as expected, and as deserved :)

    Posted by Zapatero | April 7, 2008, 12:21 am
  3. Fantastic! If I had known I was in for a weekend with my sister and the in-laws I would have made the drive from Atlanta.

    Maybe next year.

    Posted by Wygg | April 7, 2008, 4:03 am
  4. Hey mang! It was a pleasure meeting up with everyone at the meet. I’m glad to hear that you’ve landed safely, as I have.

    I was looking for a picture of the actual EON award trophies so I could show them to my corpmates. I suck at internet. If you have one available you could link me that’d be just ducky. Thanks!

    Posted by Darius JOHNSON | April 7, 2008, 5:39 am
  5. Zaptero! Nice comments bro and thanks, It was nice to put a face to the name. Sadly I promised you a drink and I was not able to stay long enough ( 8:30 or so I bailed out) to actually Fulfill that promise! Next time I meet drinks are on me the whole night, I promise!

    Posted by Manasi | April 7, 2008, 12:13 pm
  6. heheh Zap… i’m a little late here.. but i’m from NY not NJ ;)

    Posted by Xeserox | April 15, 2008, 4:59 pm

Leave a Reply

Previously

ISK Volume 1 – The Hard-Copy Guide for all EVE Pilots

@EONmagazine

EVE Strategic Maps

EON Bundle – Save $$$

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 78 other followers

