//
you're reading...
EVE Online

On the job: Skulking around in Venal

It’s that time in EON’s three-month cycle where I find myself neck-deep in things to do for the next issue. Sometimes this involves lots of reading, writing and editing (and re-reading, re-writing and re-editing) and other times I’m required to log into EVE all day, all of the night and long into the next morning in order to get the images to go with all the words that are piling up around me.

The last 24 hours have been just such a period, as I found myself with plenty of words to work with and no pictures to go with them. Part 2 of Pottsey’s Sleeper guide is going through a final draft phase, but I realised that we used up all the Sleeper pics we had for Part 1. In addition, Angus McDecoy’s in-depth profile of the Guristas (yet another fine read from the master of EVE backstory), required me last night to set out in my trusty covert ops frigate, slip quietly into Venal, and snap as many significant locations as I could before I inevitably got bumped, de-cloaked, locked and podded by the locals.

Remarkably, in spite of running into a couple of warp disruption bubbles, I made it to Guristas HQ in one piece with just a few fleeting instances of shield damage, mostly coming as a result of me dawdling for too long while my finger hammered the printscreen key. (Such is the life of the war photographer that you have to endure incoming fire to get that front page shot.)

Rather than try to slip back into empire space the way I came in, the plan for today is to find a quiet corner and scan down a wormhole and go scout out a few Sleeper sites to get some images for Pottsey’s guide, then log out to go over FinnAgain’s history of Dusk and Dawn (for which picture research will be limited to trawling through EVE Files). As you can perhaps appreciate, it’s a tough life.

Oh, while I’m on the subject of pretty pictures, I’ll be making the call for Postcards from the Edge screenshot submissions on Friday, but you don’t have to wait until then if you have images on your hard drive that you think will look good in the magazine.

Discussion

One thought on “On the job: Skulking around in Venal

  1. hi!!!

    Posted by Guaro | February 1, 2012, 10:51 am

Leave a Reply

Previously

ISK Volume 1 – The Hard-Copy Guide for all EVE Pilots

@EONmagazine

  • Hmm. I appear to have inadvertently become Eon. Back to @zptr I go... 2 months ago
  • RT @SindelPellion: FINALLY got our copy of @EONMagazine today. Was pleasantly surprised to see my screenshot published in Postcards from ... 1 year ago
  • It seems only yesterday my son was babbling on my knee as I played the Eve beta. 10 yrs on the scrote just asked for a WoW subscription. 1 year ago
  • Now, more than ever, the "nation of EVE" needs a flag, so it can be flown at half mast #RIPVileRat #tweetfleet 1 year ago

EVE Strategic Maps

EON Bundle – Save $$$

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 76 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

